2018 TCEYA


After reviewing a pool of 231 nominees, the nineteen winners you will see tonight represent some of the inspiring, important, and transformative work being done across the state. The inaugural Youth Awards winners havte excelled in criteria that The California Endowment values as we pursue our mission: leadership, innovation, sustainability, and impact to build healthier communities, and a healthier California.

This year, the Youth Awards will recognize a diverse set of seventeen young ground breakers and two youth-led organizations. Since announcing our winners in August, it has been our privilege to learn more about each winner, their work, and their impact on their communities as well as the state of California. We are gratefulto have them here with us tonight, and we are excited to follow their journeys as activists, organizers, and change-makers.

Sincerely, Dr. Ross

Watch the video below to relive the inaugural Youth Awards festival and ceremony!

The 2018 Youth Awards could not have happened without:


  • Bob Bland, Women’s March on Washington
  • Tamika D. Mallory, Women’s March on Washington
  • Carmen Perez, Women’s March on Washington
  • Linda Sarsour, Women’s March on Washington

Steering Committee

  • Tony Aguilar, TCE
  • Leticia Alejandrez, TCE
  • Francisco Espinoza, TCE
  • Kirn Kim, TCE
  • Sue Ko, TCE
  • Ajay Lawson, PYC
  • Margarita Luna, TCE
  • Albert Maldonado, TCE
  • An Nguyen, TCE
  • Carolyn Ortega, TCE
  • Leslie Renteria Salome, PYC
  • Aletha Spann, TCE
  • Marion Standish, TCE
  • LaTanya Squires, TCE
  • Dean Welliver, PYC

    Event Partners

  • Cookie Carosella, Tuff Cookie Productions
  • Latia Curry, RALLY
  • Amy DuBose, RALLY
  • Belen Flores, CA Center
  • Rachel Horning, RALLY
  • Kyla Middleton, RALLY
  • Maggie Ortiz, CACenter

Selection Committee

  • Sepi Aghdaee, Haas, Jr. Fund
  • Tony Aguilar, PYC
  • Nane Alejandrez, Barrios Unidos
  • Efrain Botello, PYC
  • James Bell, Burns Institute
  • Amparo Cid, Cid and Macedo
  • Chris Covington, PYC
  • Jasmine Dellafosse, PYC
  • Sarah Eagleheart, Native Americans in Philanthropy
  • Charles Fields, James Irvine Foundation
  • Deyaneira Garcia, PYC
  • Sandra Martinez, Cal Wellness
  • Uma Viswanathan, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • Dean Welliver, PYC
  • Mona Yeh, Funder’s Collaborative on Youth Organizing