After reviewing a pool of 231 nominees, the nineteen winners you will see tonight represent some of the inspiring, important, and transformative work being done across the state. The inaugural Youth Awards winners have excelled in criteria that The California Endowment values as we pursue our mission: leadership, innovation, sustainability, and impact to build healthier communities, and a healthier California.

This year, the Youth Awards will recognize a diverse set of seventeen young groundbreakers and two youth-led organizations. Since announcing our winners in August, it has been our privilege to learn more about each winner, their work, and their impact on their communities as well as the state of California. We are grateful to have them here with us tonight, and we are excited to follow their journeys as activists, organizers, and change-makers.

Sincerely, Dr. Ross



Watch video

to relive the inaugural Youth Awards festival and ceremony!

The 2018 Youth Awards could not have happened without:



Bob Bland, Women’s March on Washington

Tamika D. Mallory, Women’s March on Washington

Carmen Perez, Women’s March on Washington

Linda Sarsour, Women’s March on Washington

Steering Committee

Tony Aguilar, TCE

Leticia Alejandrez, TCE

Francisco Espinoza, TCE

Kirn Kim, TCE

Sue Ko, TCE

Ajay Lawson, PYC

Margarita Luna, TCE

Albert Maldonado, TCE

An Nguyen, TCE

Carolyn Ortega, TCE

Leslie Renteria Salome, PYC

Aletha Spann, TCE

Marion Standish, TCE

LaTanya Squires, TCE

Dean Welliver, PYC

Selection Committee

Sepi Aghdaee, Haas, Jr. Fund

Tony Aguilar, PYC

Nane Alejandrez, Barrios Unidos

Efrain Botello, PYC

James Bell, Burns Institute

Amparo Cid, Cid and Macedo

Chris Covington, PYC

Jasmine Dellafosse, PYC

Sarah Eagleheart, Native Americans in Philanthropy

Charles Fields, James Irvine Foundation

Deyaneira Garcia, PYC

Sandra Martinez, Cal Wellness

Uma Viswanathan, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Dean Welliver, PYC

Mona Yeh, Funder’s Collaborative on Youth Organizing

Event Partners

Cookie Carosella, Tuff Cookie Productions

Latia Curry, RALLY

Amy DuBose, RALLY

Belen Flores, CA Center

Rachel Horning, RALLY

Kyla Middleton, RALLY

Maggie Ortiz, CACenter